Twitter Opts Users into New Censorship ‘Filter’: Here’s How to Disable It

Social media platform’s “Quality Filter” turned on for unsuspecting users

A new setting on Twitter designed to remove “offensive” content appears to have been enabled without the knowledge or consent of users.

Known as the “Quality Filter,” the feature aims to censor any tweet in a user’s notifications “that contain threats, offensive or abusive language, duplicate content, or are sent from suspicious accounts.”

Unbeknownst to many Twitter users, the feature, which has already been shown to censor legitimate content, was activated without any sort of approval requirement. Users who initially opted out of the feature last week also noted that it was re-enabled on Android after a Monday update to the Twitter application.

Several users of the social media site who were instructed on how to disable the feature by Infowars say they immediately noticed legitimate notifications return.

Those interested in disabling the filter can uncheck the “Quality Filter” option by clicking here while logged into Twitter or follow the video instructions below.

Help others remove the filter by sharing this tweet and article.

If you haven’t yet, here’s how to disable Twitter’s “Quality Filter”

2 responses to “Twitter Opts Users into New Censorship ‘Filter’: Here’s How to Disable It”

  1. Thanks. I followed the link and disabled the filter, but I’ll bet the next time it will be mandatory with no way to turn it off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Freedom Rider

      We have no way of knowing for sure the thing is deactivated after we turn it off now. I hope it is but…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. ( Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. ( Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. ( Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. ( Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s